Page 3 of 4

Finalists to be Announced!

SDBA Finalists for 20174 soon to be announcedThe 2017 SDBA Finalists will be listed after May 15th. STAY TUNED!

You’re Invited to the 2017 SDBA Ceremony

2017 SDBA Ceremony

June 10th, 6 p.m.
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
3299 Holiday Ct.
La Jolla CA 92037, USA

Image result for Sheraton La Jolla Hotel conference room


Occupancy is limited, but tickets are now on sale! $29.00 for ticket purchases BEFORE May 26, 2017. $35.00 after the early bird deadline.  

Tickets can be purchased via check (Just mail it to SD Book Awards, P.O. Box 6487, Oceanside, CA 92052. *Please make checks payable to SD Book Awards) or purchase them here via PayPal.

*Please spell out the full name of all attendees at the time of ticket purchase so we will have name tags for everyone at the ceremony. If you’re mailing in your registration, write the names on a separate sheet and include with your check. If you’re paying by PayPal, write the names in the “comments” section. If for any reason the comment section does not appear, please email us your attendees names at

Wall Street Journal Honors Chet Cunningham

[Chet] didn’t wait for inspiration to strike. “A carpenter doesn’t not go into work because he has carpenter’s block,” said his daughter, Christine Ashworth, also a novelist. “He considered writing a craft, and he just did it.”

Read the full article here.

San Diego Union-Tribune’s John Wilkens Honors Chet Cunningham

This is a wonderful article about a wonderful man.

Click here to read John Wilken’s article.


June 10, 2017 at the Sheraton La Jolla Hotel – details to follow

Chet Cunningham, SDBAA Founder, Passes at 88

Chet Cunningham
December 9, 1928 – March 14, 2017

Chet Cunningham, a beloved San Diego writer, and founder of the San Diego Book Awards Association has passed after 88 years of life–a life which changed the very culture San Diego writing and writers.

“Chet was a tremendous inspiration to me and shaped my life by introducing me to the San Diego Book Awards Association, where we worked together for fifteen years. Yet of all of his achievements, it was his relationship with his wife, Rosie, that inspired me most. If I can be half the man and husband he was, I will consider myself a success.” -Former SDBAA President Bradley Steffens

Jean Forsythe, President of SDBAA had been in contact with him about the “Chet Cunningham Spur Award” for best unpublished entry (one of his personal passions was to promote unpublished writers in San Diego). SDBAA Board members were all excited about the ceremony June 10, 2017 at the Sheraton La Jolla Hotel. He was going to try to attend and present the “Chet” for the first time.

San Diego Writers will feel the ripples of this man’s life for generations.


San Diego novelist Chet Cunningham has written more than 300 published books. He started the San Diego Book Awards 22 years ago… READ MORE HERE.

Here is a link to the transcript, for better accessibility.

Board Member Interviewed by Poets and Writers

Check it out here!


Published Window Does Not Open Until January 2017

Just a gentle reminder:

Per the Submission Guidelines, FAQ’s, and at the request of the volunteers, Published entries received BEFORE January 1 OR AFTER January 31 will be disqualified and checks shredded appropriately.

Thank you for cooperating with the the San Diego Book Awards Association.

2016 SDBAA Logo no text RB Border


2016 SDBAA Logo w text

Due to the requests of entrants, the Fall 2016 Submission Window for Unpublished Entries has been extended!


Open to all writers residing in San Diego County.

Winners will be determined by a panel of judges.


Unpublished/Published entries from 2015* and 2016 are both eligible.

*Due to the installation of a new Board of Directors in 2016, unpublished and published books with a 2015 copyright or publication date will be eligible. Only one winner will be awarded in each genre.

For complete rules, guidelines and entry forms, please visit:

Or write to: SDBA
P.O. Box 6487
Oceanside, CA 92056


We look forward to reading your stories,
San Diego Book Awards Association Board of Directors and Judges

« Older posts Newer posts »