The San Diego Book Awards Association is a nonprofit organization that’s been around for over 20 years. SDBA is dedicated to supporting and recognizing local published and unpublished authors through a once-a-year competition that is followed by an awards ceremony. 
~ ~ ~

The Chet Cunningham Spur Award

SDBA is proud to announce an annual prize, named after our esteemed founder Chet Cunningham, for the judges’ choice for the best overall unpublished manuscript submission. Chet wanted a name for the award that combined his love of encouraging new writers with his joy for Westerns. All unpublished entries are eligible for the Chet Cunningham Spur Award. The first winner of the Chet was in 2017 by Aida Dennehy, for her manuscript In the Shadow of the Prophet.