Home > About Us


The San Diego Book Awards Association is a 25-year-old nonprofit that supports and recognizes published and unpublished authors with our annual competition.
~ ~ ~

The Chet Cunningham Spur Award

In 2017, created by, named after, and in honor of our esteemed founder Chet Cunningham, SDBA is proud to present the Chet Cunningham Spur Award. This is awarded to the judges’ choice for the best overall unpublished manuscript submission.

Chet wanted a name for the award that combined his love of encouraging new writers with his joy for Westerns, and all unpublished entries are eligible for the Chet Cunningham Spur Award.

The first winner of the Chet was in 2017 by Aida Dennehy, for her manuscript In the Shadow of the Prophet.